Presentation of CAOPA

Print Friendly

How we created the CAOPA?

Meeting of the initiators

Since 1999, small-scale fishing organizations from Mauritania, Senegal and Guinea have forged links through various meetings organized by CFFA and ICSF.
The creation of the African Confederation of Artisanal Fishing Organizations is an initiative of the artisanal fisheries professionals themselves, by members of three countries fishing organizations: Mauritania, Senegal, and Guinea Conakry, which are respectively the National Fisheries Federation (FNP), the National Inter-professionnal Council of Fishworkers in Senegal (CONIPAS), and the National Fishers Union of Guinea (UNPAG).
The idea came up during a meeting held in 2006 in Nouadhibou (Mauritania), where the main theme was the necessary dialogue between the small-scale fishing communities and the media:

  • This meeting led to the creation of the West Africa Network of Journalists for Responsible Fisheries (REJOPRAO), who later became a privileged partner of the CAOPA. The idea of bringing together professionals, men and women, from African artisanal fisheries was further reflected upon in 2007 in Dakar. The Dakar workshop set up the premises of a wider group of African artisanal fishing professional organisations, launching an appeal for the countries which were not yet involved to be brought in.
  • In December 2008, an enlarged meeting of national organizations from nine African countries, – each sending a delegation composed of one man/one woman, was held in Conakry. One of the main recommendations from this meeting was the establishment of an African Confederation of artisanal fishing organisations. A follow-up Committee was established, members from the following countries: Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Mauritania and Senegal.
  • In June 2009, the Follow-up Committee met in Dakar to develop the Charter, the Statutes, and rules of procedure of the future African Confederation of Artisanal Fishing Organisations.
  • In March 2010, the Constitutive General Assembly was held in Banjul, with the presence of professionals from the nine (09) countries participating. Amendments of the statutory instruments were discussed, and finally, the African Confederation of Artisanal Fishing Organizations was born. Senegal was chosen to host its headquarters. The organisation later got its formal recognition by the authorities of Senegal, under Decree No. 0110046/NINT/DGAT/DLA-PA 2013-07-1

A process accompanied by partners

The whole process leading to the creation of the CAOPA benefited from the technical support of the ANCAR, the West Africa Rural Foundation (WARF) and an technical expert having more than 40 years’experience in fisheries management and administration, as well as in the financing of small scale fisheries projects. Constant technical and financial support were also provided by the Coalition for Fair Fisheries Arrangements (CFFA), the Swedish Society for Nature Conservation (SSNC), Bread for the World/Brot für Die Welt (BFW), the International Collective in Support of Fishworkers (ICSF), and the Regional Partnership for the Conservation of the Coastal Marine Zone in West Africa (PRCM)
See the list of our partners
Implementation of the FAO voluntary guidelines for sustainable small scale fisheries
In the context of the implementation of these directives to ensure sustainable small-scale fisheries in the context of food security and the eradication of poverty, taking into account the central role of women in fisheries (processing, marketing of fish, funding of the fishing trips, etc.), the CAOPA made proposals for consideration by the FAO in the interest of the artisanal fishing communities.
In November 2012, a conference was held in Côte d’Ivoire on the theme “Improving the contribution of small-scale fisheries to food security: the role of women”. CAOPA, in partnership with ICSF, followed this conference by a day of discussions on “Women in African small scale fisheries: West Africa fish trade issues». The workshop allowed women to make robust proposals for taking account of their concerns in the context of the FAO international guidelines to ensure a sustainable small-scale fisheries (see report for proposals).

The guidelines recognize that many small-scale fishing communities are located in areas prone to natural disasters, and that climate change increases the intensity and frequency of such disasters, suggesting that disaster risk management and climate change adaptation policies must meet the needs of artisanal fishing communities – FAO guidelines can help for this.

In this context, the FAO funded the project for the adaptation of West Africa small scale fishing communities to the impacts of climate change (project 3403-SFW-TCP_FAO ). This project is for the benefit of the CAOPA, which chairs the Steering Committee and is coordinated by WARF with an implementation in three countries in West Africa: Senegal, the Gambia and Sierra Leone.
Participation to the Committee on Fisheries
In 2010 and 2011, the CAOPA participated to the FAO Committee on Fisheries (Rome, Italy) as part of the CFFA delegation. In 2012, CAOPA received, for the first time, the observer status in COFI. At this occasion, CAOPA General Secretary had the honor, in the context of the debate on food security, to make a presentation on “the strategic importance of small pelagics in West Africa and the situation of Senegal’.


September 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Language:

Présentation de la CAOPA

Print Friendly

Comment avons-nous créé la CAOPA ?

Rencontre des acteurs initiateurs

Depuis 1999, les pêcheurs artisans de Mauritanie, du Sénégal et de Guinée ont noué des liens lors de diverses rencontres organisées par CAPE et ICSF.
La création de la Confédération Africaine des Organisations de Pêche artisanale est une initiative des acteurs professionnels de la pêche artisanale membres des fédérations d’organisations de pêche artisanale de trois (03) pays : Mauritanie, Sénégal, Guinée Conakry qui sont respectivement la Fédération Nationale de Pêche (FNP), le Conseil National Interprofessionnel de la Pêche Artisanale du Sénégal (CONIPAS), l’Union Nationale des Pêcheurs de Guinée (UNPAG).
Cette idée est née lors de la rencontre tenue en 2006 à Nouadhibou dont le thème principal était le dialogue nécessaire entre les communautés de pêche artisanale et les médias.
• Cette rencontre a mené à la création d’un Réseau des Journalistes pour une Pêche Responsable en Afrique de l’Ouest (REJOPRAO) , qui devient plus tard un partenaire privilégié de la CAOPA. La réflexion sur l’idée de fédérer les professionnels, hommes et femmes, de la pêche artisanale africaine s’est poursuivie en 2007 à Dakar. Cet atelier de Dakar a vu naitre les prémisses d’un regroupement des professionnels de la pêche artisanale d’Afrique. Un appel a été lancé pour aider à organiser les pays qui ne le sont pas encore.
• En décembre 2008 une rencontre élargie à neuf (09) organisations nationales de pays africains, chacune envoyant une délégation paritaire homme/femme, s’est tenue à Conakry. Une des fortes recommandations issue de cette rencontre a été la mise sur pied de la Confédération africaine des organisations professionnelles de la pêche artisanale. Un comité de suivi des recommandations est mis sur pied, composé des pays suivants : Gambie, Guinée, Guinée Bissau, Libéria, Sierra Léone, Mauritanie et Sénégal .
• En juin 2009, le comité de suivi s’est réuni à Dakar pour élaborer la charte, les statuts et règlement intérieur de la future confédération africaine des organisations professionnelles de pêche artisanale.
• En mars 2010, s’est tenue à Banjul, l’Assemblée Générale Constitutive avec la participation présence des délégués des neuf (09) pays. et Après un partage examen et amendement des textes réglementaires la Confédération Africaine des Organisations Professionnelles de la Pêche Artisanale dénommée CAOPA est née et le Sénégal a été choisi pour abriter le siège. Elle obtiendra plu tard son récépissé après une démarche administrative menée auprès des autorités de ce dit pays par l’arrêté N°010046/NINT/DGAT/DLA-PA du 1-07-2013.

Une démarche accompagnée par les partenaires

L’ensemble du processus ayant abouti à la création de la CAOPA a bénéficié de l’appui technique et de l’accompagnement de ANCAR, de la Fondation rurale d’Afrique de l’Ouest (FRAO) et d’un expert en pêche ayant capitalisé plus de 40 ans dans le domaine de l’administration des pêche, la gestion de projets de pêche et du financement de la pêche artisanale. Un appui technique et financier constant a également été donné par la Coalition pour des Accords de Pêche Equitables (CAPE), Swedish Society for Nature Conservation (SSNC), Pain pour le Monde/Brot fur Die Welt (PPM/BFW), International Collective in Support of Fishworkers (ICSF), Partenariat Régional pour la Conservation de la Zone Côtière et Marine en Afrique de l’Ouest (PRCM)
Voir la liste de nos partenaires

Mise en œuvre des directives volontaires de la FAO

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de ces directives visant à assurer la durabilité de la pêche artisanale dans le contexte de la sécurité alimentaire et l’éradication de la pauvreté et compte tenu du rôle central des femmes dans la pêche (transformation, commercialisation du poisson, financement dans la sortie des pêcheurs en mer etc.), la CAOPA a eu a faire des propositions en vue de leur prise en compte par la FAO et pour l’intérêt des communautés de pêche artisanale.
En novembre 2012, dans le cadre de la conférence organisée en Côte d’Ivoire à l’honneur des femmes sur le thème « Améliorer la contribution de la pêche artisanale à la sécurité alimentaire: le rôle des femmes », la CAOPA en partenariat avec ICSF a par ailleurs à la suite de cette conférence organisé une journée supplémentaire sur le thème « les femmes de la pêche artisanale face au commerce des produits de la pêche en Afrique de l’Ouest: Quelle prise en compte? » Cet atelier a permis aux femmes de faire de fortes propositions pour la prise en compte de leurs préoccupations dans le cadre des Directives Internationales de la FAO pour garantir une pêche artisanale durable (cf rapport pour les propositions).


Les directives reconnaissant que de nombreuses communautés de pêche artisanale sont localisées dans les régions sujettes aux catastrophes naturelles, le changement climatique augmente l’intensité et la fréquence de ces catastrophes, suggère que la gestion des risques de catastrophes et les politiques d’adaptation au changement climatique devront répondre aux besoins spécifiques des communautés de pêche artisanale, et les directives pourront les aider pour cela.
C’est ainsi que dans ce logique, la FAO a financé un projet dénommé TCP/SFW/3403 _FAO pour l’adaptation des communautés de pêche artisanale d’Afrique de l’Ouest aux impacts des changements climatiques. Ce projet financé au profit de la CAOPA qui assure la présidence du comité de pilotage et la FRAO coordonatrice est exécuté dans trois pays d’Afrique de l’Ouest: le Sénégal, la Gambie et la Sierra Léone.

Participation au comité de pêche

En 2010 et 2011, la CAOPA a participé au comité des pêches de la FAO, le COFI à la Direction générale à Rome en d’Italie sous la couverture de la CAPE. La particularité de l’édition 2012 est que la CAOPA a gagné pour la première fois son statut d’observateur au sein de cette instance Le Secrétaire Général de la CAOPA, a eu l’honneur, dans le cadre de la sécurité alimentaire, de faire une présentation sur « l’importance stratégique des petits pélagiques en Afrique de l’Ouest et situation du Sénégal ».


septembre 2017
L M M J V S D
« Mar    
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930